Syntronik virtual synths come to iPad

Syntronik virtual synths come to iPad

Syntronik for iPad

Last Updated on September 23, 2017 by Andrew Culture

Recently we extensively reviewed the Syntronik mega-synth package by IK Multimedia. We reached the conclusion that as far as virtual instrument synth packages go Sytronik is one of the best on the market.  IK Multimedia have announced that a variation of Syntronik is now available for the Apple iPad.

Syntronik for iPad includes 17 amazing Synths covering a wide selection from 37 of the most iconic to ultra-rare classic synthesizers of all time:

99 – Based on the Yamaha SY99
Blau – Classic sounds of the PPG Wave 2.3
Bully – Iconic bass sounds of the Moog Taurus I, II and 3
DCO-X – Based on the Roland JX-3P, JX-8P and JX-10 classic synths
Galaxy – Iconic sounds of the Alesis Andromeda
Harpy 260 – Classic sounds of the ARP 2600
J-8 – Iconic sounds of the Roland Jupiter 4, 6 and 8
J-60 – Based on the Juno 60, including analog modelled chorus
Minimod – Based on the Minimoog, Modular and Voyager synths
Noir – Based on the Moog Prodigy, Micromoog and Multimoog
OXa – Classic sounds of the Oberheim OB-X and OB-Xa
Polymorph – Based on the Polymoog, Opus 3, Rogue, and Concertmate MG-1
Pro-V – Classic sounds of the Prophet-5 and Prophet-10
SAM – Iconic sounds of the Oberheim SEM synthesizer
String Box – Based on ARP, Elka, Hohner, and Roland string machines
T-03 – Iconic bass sounds of the Roland TB-303
V-80 – Classic sounds of the Yamaha CS-80, GX-1 and CS-01


Syntronik for iPad is interesting because of the way it allows users to manipulate the sounds the synths are capable of.  IK tell us that in total there are 36 available effects.  These range from modulation effects, filters, EQs and dynamic processors.

The software is build around a hybrid synthesis engine that keeps the synths sounding authentic thanks to (for example) IK’s proprietary DRIFT™ technology.  DRIFT varies the pitch, phase and colour of the sampled oscillators in a delicate way.  These minor variations mimic the ‘constant movement’ heard in real analog oscillators.

The Syntronik iPad app is free.  The free edition comes with 25 instrument sounds from 17th synths.  On purchase the user can buy the full package for $39.99 or individual synths for $9.99 each.

Find out more about Syntronik for iPad…